Understanding ISO Standards: A Comprehensive Guide

Understanding ISO Standards: A Comprehensive Guide
In today’s globalised world, the importance of standardized processes, products, and services cannot be overstated. Standards ensure compatibility, quality, and safety, which are essential for businesses, consumers, and governments alike. One of the most recognized entities responsible for setting these standards is the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO). This blog will delve into what ISO standards are, their significance, and how they impact various industries.


What Are ISO Standards

ISO standards are internationally agreed-upon guidelines and specifications developed by the International Organization for Standardization. Founded in 1947, ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 167 national standards bodies. The standards cover a broad range of topics, from quality management and environmental performance to food safety and information security.


Why Are ISO Standards Important?

1. ISO standards help ensure that products and services are safe, reliable, and of good quality. For instance, ISO 9001, one of the most popular standards, sets out the criteria for a quality management system (QMS). This standard is based on several quality management principles, including a strong customer focus, the involvement of top management, and a process-based approach to continuous improvement.


Global Compatability

2. In an interconnected global market, compatibility between products and systems is crucial. ISO standards facilitate this by providing a common language and technical specifications. For example, ISO 80000 is a standard for quantities and units used in science and engineering, ensuring consistency across international borders.


Regulatory Compliance

3. Many countries incorporate ISO standards into their regulatory frameworks. Compliance with these standards can help businesses meet legal requirements and avoid penalties. For example, ISO 14001 provides guidelines for environmental management systems, helping organizations improve their environmental performance and comply with environmental laws.


Market Access

4. Adhering to ISO standards can open up new markets for businesses. Many companies require their suppliers to be ISO certified, making certification a key factor in gaining contracts and entering international markets. For instance, ISO/IEC 27001 is a widely recognized standard for information security management, and compliance can be a prerequisite for doing business in certain sectors.


Consumer Confidence

5.When consumers see the ISO mark on a product or service, it signals that the company adheres to internationally recognized standards. This builds trust and confidence, as consumers can be assured of the quality, safety, and reliability of the product or service they are purchasing.

Key ISO Standards to Know
1. ISO 9001: Quality Management Systems
ISO 9001 sets the criteria for a quality management system and is the only standard in the ISO 9000 series that can be certified. It is applicable to any organization, regardless of its size or industry. The standard is based on principles such as customer focus, leadership, engagement of people, process approach, improvement, evidence-based decision making, and relationship management.

2. ISO 14001: Environmental Management Systems
ISO 14001 specifies the requirements for an environmental management system (EMS) and provides a framework for organizations to protect the environment, respond to changing environmental conditions, and enhance environmental performance. This standard is applicable to any organization, regardless of size, type, or nature.

3. ISO/IEC 27001: Information Security Management
ISO/IEC 27001 provides a framework for establishing, implementing, maintaining, and continually improving an information security management system (ISMS). The aim is to help organizations make the information assets they hold more secure. This standard is crucial for businesses handling sensitive data, including financial information, intellectual property, employee details, and information entrusted to them by third parties.

4. ISO 45001: Occupational Health and Safety
ISO 45001 sets out the requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system and gives guidance for its use. The standard aims to prevent work-related injury and ill health and to provide safe and healthy workplaces. ISO 45001 is applicable to any organization, regardless of its size, type, or nature.

5. ISO 22000: Food Safety Management Systems
ISO 22000 specifies the requirements for a food safety management system (FSMS) and covers all organizations in the food chain from “farm to fork”. The standard ensures that food products are safe for consumption and helps organizations identify and control food safety hazards.

How to Get ISO Certified

Comprehensive Guide

Achieving ISO certification involves several steps, and while the process can vary slightly depending on the standard, the general steps include:

1. Understanding the Standard
Begin by thoroughly understanding the relevant ISO standard. This may involve training or consulting with experts to grasp the requirements and implications for your organization.

2. Gap Analysis
Conduct a gap analysis to compare your current processes with the requirements of the ISO standard. Identify areas that need improvement or changes.

3. Implementation
Implement the necessary changes to meet the standard’s requirements. This may involve revising procedures, training staff, and documenting processes.

4. Internal Audit
Perform an internal audit to ensure that the new processes meet the ISO standard. This helps identify any areas that still need adjustment.

5. Certification Audit
Engage a third-party certification body to conduct a certification audit. The auditor will assess whether your organization’s processes meet the requirements of the ISO standard.

6. Continuous Improvement
Once certified, maintain and continually improve your processes to ensure ongoing compliance with the standard. Regular audits and reviews can help sustain compliance and identify opportunities for further improvement.

ISO standards play a pivotal role in ensuring quality, safety, and efficiency across various industries worldwide. By adhering to these standards, organizations can not only meet regulatory requirements and gain market access but also build trust with consumers and stakeholders. As global markets continue to evolve, the importance of ISO standards in fostering compatibility, reliability, and excellence will only grow.

Embracing ISO standards is not just about certification; it’s about committing to a culture of continuous improvement and excellence. Whether you’re a small business or a multinational corporation, ISO standards can provide the framework you need to thrive in an increasingly competitive and interconnected world.


Becoming UKAS accredited

An added benefit of partnering with Compliant is that all our ISO certifications are UKAS accredited. Wondering why you should invest in UKAS accredited certifications rather than non-UKAS? The answer is simple. The United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) is the sole national accreditation body for the United Kingdom.

View our ‘Why invest in UKAS accredited certifications rather than non-UKAS’ article for more information.

If you are looking to make the shift from non-UKAS to UKAS we can help get you started.


Reduce the hassle and work of multiple management systems. Get started on your integrated management system with Compliant today.